Wednesday, January 21, 2015

Waiting on Wednesday #189: The Fill-In Boyfriend


Waiting On Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine that spotlights upcoming releases.

The Fill-In Boyfriend
By: Kasie West
Release Date: May 5, 2015

"When Gia Montgomery's boyfriend, Bradley, dumps her in the parking lot of her high school prom, she has to think fast. After all, she'd been telling her friends about him for months now. This was supposed to be the night she proved he existed. So when she sees a cute guy waiting to pick up his sister, she enlists his help. The task is simple: be her fill-in boyfriend— two hours, zero commitment, a few white lies. After that, she can win back the real Bradley. The problem is that days after prom, it's not the real Bradley she's thinking about, but the stand-in. The one whose name she doesn't even know. But tracking him down doesn't mean they're done faking a relationship. Gia owes him a favor and his sister intends to see that he collects: his ex-girlfriend's graduation party — three hours, zero commitment, a few white lies. Just when Gia begins to wonder if she could turn her fake boyfriend into a real one, Bradley comes waltzing back into her life, exposing her lie, and threatening to destroy her friendships and her new-found relationship." (Summary from goodreads.com)


 

Tuesday, January 20, 2015

Wicked by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Wicked
By: Jennifer L. Armentrout
Released: December 8, 2014
Source: Purchased
Purchase the Book: Amazon

"Things are about to get Wicked in New Orleans. Twenty-two year old Ivy Morgan isn’t your average college student. She, and others like her, know humans aren’t the only thing trolling the French Quarter for fun… and for food. Her duty to the Order is her life. After all, four years ago, she lost everything at the hands of the creatures she’d sworn to hunt, tearing her world and her heart apart. Ren Owens is the last person Ivy expected to enter her rigidly controlled life. He’s six feet and three inches of temptation and swoon-inducing charm. With forest-green eyes and a smile that’s surely left a stream of broken hearts in its wake, he has an uncanny, almost unnatural ability to make her yearn for everything he has to offer. But letting him in is as dangerous as hunting the cold-blooded killers stalking the streets. Losing the boy she loved once before had nearly destroyed her, but the sparking tension that grows between them becomes impossible for Ivy to deny. Deep down, she wants… she needs more than what her duty demands of her, what her past has shaped for her. But as Ivy grows closer to Ren, she realizes she’s not the only one carrying secrets that could shatter the frail bond between them. There’s something he’s not telling her, and one thing is for certain. She’s no longer sure what is more dangerous to her—the ancient beings threatening to take over the town or the man demanding to lay claim to her heart and her soul" (Summary from goodreads.com)



No surprise that I loved yet another Jennifer L. Armentrout book. The plot was exciting and the characters were great. As soon as I started reading this one, I couldn't put it down. 

Wicked is the story of Ivy who is a part of the Order and hunts faeries. She is committed to her duty after she lost everything a few years ago. Then Ren comes into town and Ivy finds herself getting closer and closer to him. 

Ivy and Ren were really great and well developed characters. Ivy is tough and committed to protecting the streets of New Orleans. Ren is the mysterious new guy in town. I loved reading the relationship that developed between these two. They are both keeping their own secrets though. 

The plot was exciting and I was hooked from the first page. I couldn't put this one down for long. I did predict the ending early on, but that didn't make me enjoy the book any less. Wicked was a great mix of action, romance, and humor. There were a lot of laugh out loud moments in this book and the romance was hot. The history of the faeries and the Order was interesting and explained really well. I loved the setting in New Orleans as well. It was fun to read along as Ivy hunted for faeries at night on the streets of New Orleans. It also really made me crave some beignets. 

Overall I really enjoyed Wicked. I will certainly be counting down the days until the sequel is released. If you are a Jennifer L. Armentrout fan then you will definitely love this one. I also recommend this to anyone looking for a great paranormal book.

My Rating:
 

Monday, January 19, 2015

All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

All the Bright Places
By: Jennifer Niven
Released: January 6, 2015
Source: Purchased
Purchase the Book: Amazon

"Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him. Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister’s recent death. When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it’s unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the “natural wonders” of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself—a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who’s not such a freak after all. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink." (Summary from goodreads.com)


If you are only going to read one book in 2015, then it needs to be All the Bright Places. This book was just stunning. It has been days since I finished reading it, but I still can't stop thinking about this book. It is so well written.

All the Bright Places is the story of Finch and Violet. Finch is always thinking of ways to kill himself, but hasn't gone through with it yet. While Violet is still struggling with moving on after the death of her sister. Both of these characters don't seem to have much in common at first glance. Finch is known as the "freak" at school and Violet is popular. However, when they meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school that all begins to change. They pair up to do a project together that involves them exploring Indiana.

Finch and Violet were really well developed characters with so much depth. I loved the way that the chapters alternated between both of them. They each have such distinct voices and a different perspective. I also loved reading the relationship that develops between these characters. It came across as so natural. 

I just loved the way that Niven structured this novel because it flowed from beginning to end so well. This book made me smile, laugh, and cry. I also loved the setting and getting to explore Indiana with Finch and Violet. I found myself writing down so many lines from this book while I was reading.

Niven's writing is simply beautiful. She handled depression in such an honest and real way. I can't say enough how much I loved how she brought in this whole discussion of labels and the stigma on mental disorders. While reading I just kept thinking finally this discussion is being opened up in a Young Adult novel.  

Overall I loved All the Bright Places. This is a book that I know will always stay with me. It is a breathtaking and honest story. I can't recommend enough that you pick this book up now.


My Rating:
 

Wednesday, January 14, 2015

Waiting on Wednesday #188: Finding Paris


Waiting On Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine that spotlights upcoming releases.



Finding Paris
By:Joy Preble
Release Date: April 21, 2015

"A page-turning, evocative novel for fans of THIRTEEN REASONS WHY and SPEAK, about a girl who must follow a trail of mysterious clues to discover what happened to her sister. Sisters Leo and Paris Hollings have only ever had each other to rely on. They can’t trust their mother, who hops from city to city and from guy to guy, or their gambler stepfather, who’s moved them all to Las Vegas. It’s just the two of them: Paris, who’s always been the dreamer, and Leo, who has a real future in mind—going to Stanford, becoming a doctor, falling in love. But Leo isn’t going anywhere yet… until Paris ditches her at the Heartbreak Hotel Diner, where moments before they had been talking with physics student Max Sullivan. Outside, Leo finds a cryptic note from Paris—a clue. Is it some kind of game? Where is Paris, and why has she disappeared? When Leo reluctantly accepts Max’s offer of help, the two find themselves following a string of clues through Vegas and beyond. But the search for the truth is a not a straight line. And neither is the path to secrets Leo and Max hold tightly." (Summary from goodreads.com)