Monday, August 22, 2016

Scavenger of Souls by Joshua David Bellin

Scavenger of Souls 
By: Joshua David Bellin
Released: August 23, 2016
Source: E-Galley
Purchase the Book: Amazon - B&N

Querry Genn must face the truth about the past and fight to save humanity and the future in this stunning sequel to Survival Colony 9, which New York Times bestselling author Jonathan Maberry called “a terrific novel. Querry and the members of Survival Colony 9 have defeated a whole nest of the creatures called Skaldi, who can impersonate humans even as they destroy them. But now the colony is dangerously low in numbers and supplies. Querry’s mother is in command, and is definitely taking them somewhere—but where? Some secret from her past seems to be driving her relentlessly forward. When they do finally reach their destination, Querry is amazed to discover a whole compound of humans—organized, with plenty of food and equipment. But the colonists are not welcomed. Everything about them is questioned, especially by Mercy, the granddaughter of the compound’s leader. Mercy is as tough a fighter as Querry has ever seen—and a girl as impetuous as Querry is careful. But the more Querry learns about Mercy and the others, the more he realizes that nothing around him is as it seems. There are gruesome secrets haunting this place and its people. And it’s up to Querry to unearth the past and try to save the future in this gripping conclusion to the Survival Colony novels. (Goodreads)

I really enjoyed Scavenger of Souls. I haven't read the first book, Survival Colony 9, yet, but I was assured before reading Scavenger of Souls that it could read as a standalone. I can definitely now confirm that you can read this as a standalone. The first chapter did a really great job with recapping what I believe happened in Survival Colony 9 and introducing the reader to this world and characters. The only thing that I felt like I may have missed with reading this duology out of order is the connection that the characters made with each other in the first book. However, I will certainly be picking up Survival Colony 9 eventually and I'm excited to get into more of the details of what happened to Querry before everything in Scavenger of Souls. I personally loved the idea of being able to read these books out of order though. 

Scavenger of Souls is the story of Querry and the other members of Survival Colony 9 who are on the move under the command of Querry's mother. Querry's mother is keeping secrets though and Querry wants answers. However once they finally do make it to a compound, they aren't welcomed.  

Querry was an interesting and realistic protagonist. He's fifteen years old, but doesn't remember the past fourteen years of his life. He has so many questions about his past, but his mother isn't immediately forthcoming with those answers. He's constantly being thrown around into these tough scenarios and is forced to make difficult decisions. I really liked how his motivation behind those decisions was clear though. There were also several interesting side characters too, but my favorite was definitely Mercy. She was such an awesome, intelligent, and tough character. I loved getting to know her as the story progressed.

The plot was paced fairly well and there was a lot of action. There were a few moments where I felt like the story was dragging along a bit though and it felt repetitive. However, I really liked all of the twists and there were definitely a couple that took me by surprise. One of my favorite aspects of this book was the setting though. This world that Bellin created was so fascinating and scary. I really enjoyed learning about the Skaldi.

Overall, I really enjoyed Scavenger of Souls. If you're a fan of post-apocalyptic stories, then I definitely recommend picking this one up.    

My Rating:



Wednesday, August 17, 2016

Waiting on Wednesday #271: A Season of Daring Greatly


Waiting On Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine that spotlights upcoming releases.


A Season of Daring Greatly
By: Ellen Emerson White
Release Date: February 14, 2017

Jill Cafferty just made history as the first woman signed by an MLB team, joining the Pittsburgh Pirates’ Triple-A affiliate only days after high school graduation. Despite the reassurances of coaches and managers alike, not everyone is happy to have her there. A few of her teammates are giving her trouble, making crude jokes and claiming there’s no way she can play at this level. The media presence following Jill at each of her games adds to her own misgivings about choosing pro baseball over a normal college experience. And to top it all off, Jill is struggling with the responsibilities of being a national hero and a role model for young women everywhere. How can she be a role model when she’s not even sure she made the right choice for herself? Featuring a strong female character trying to mark out a place for herself in a male-dominated world, this literary and accessible book is a great choice for fans of John Corey Whaley and Catherine Gilbert Murdock. (Goodreads)

Wednesday, August 10, 2016

Waiting on Wednesday #270: The Last of August


Waiting On Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine that spotlights upcoming releases.


The Last of August (Charlotte Holmes #2)
By: Brittany Cavallaro
Release Date: February 14, 2017

In this second brilliant, action-packed book in the Charlotte Holmes trilogy, Jamie Watson and Charlotte Holmes are looking for a winter break reprieve after a fall semester that almost got them killed. But Charlotte isn't the only Holmes with secrets, and the mood at her family's Sussex estate is palpably tense. On top of everything else, Holmes and Watson could be becoming more than friends - but still, the darkness in Charlotte's past is a wall between them. A distraction arises soon enough, because Charlotte's beloved Uncle Leander goes missing from the estate - after being oddly private about his latest assignment in a German art forgery ring. The game is afoot once again, and Charlotte is single-minded in her pursuit. Their first stop? Berlin. Their first contact? August Moriarty - formerly Charlotte's obsession, currently believed by most to be dead - whose powerful family has been ripping off famous paintings for the last hundred years. But as they follow the gritty underground scene in Berlin to glittering art houses in Prague, Holmes and Watson begin to realize that this is a much more complicated case than a disappearance. Much more dangerous, too. What they learn might change everything they know about their families, themselves, and each other. (Goodreads)