Wednesday, December 28, 2016

Waiting on Wednesday #290: Grit


Waiting On Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine that spotlights upcoming releases.


Grit
By: Gillian French
Release Date: May 16, 2017

His presence beside me is like heat, like weight, something I’ve carried around on my back too long. It’s summer in rural Maine; when seventeen-year-old Darcy Prentiss isn’t raking berries with her sister, Mags, and cousin, Nell, during the day, she’s drinking and swimming with the boys in the quarry by night. She knows how to have a good time, just like anyone else, but when you’ve been designated the town slut, every move you make seems to further solidify your “trashy girl” reputation. But the fun is what’s been keeping Darcy’s mind off the things she can’t forget: a disturbing secret she shares with Nell, the mysterious disappearance of her ex–best friend, and that hazy Fourth of July party that ended with Darcy drunk, on her back, wondering how she let it get this far. Then someone in town anonymously nominates Darcy to be in the running for Bay Festival Princess—a cruel, almost laughable gesture that can only be the work of someone with a score to settle. Everything Darcy has been trying to keep down comes bubbling to the surface in ways she wasn’t prepared to handle . . . and isn’t sure if she can. Gorgeously written and powerfully raw, this novel from debut author Gillian French will appeal to readers of Laurie Halse Anderson and Gayle Forman. (Goodreads)

1 comment:

Thank you so much for leaving a comment! :)