Tuesday, April 21, 2015

Finding Paris by Joy Preble

Finding Paris
By: Joy Preble
Released: April 21, 2015
Source: Edelweiss
Purchase the Book: Amazon
*A copy of this book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review

An evocative and compelling story of two sisters who would do anything for each other--perfect for fans of Thirteen Reasons Why and Speak. Joy Preble's stirring new novel explores the lengths to which sisters go to protect each other, and the winding road that brings two strangers into each other's lives. Sisters Leo and Paris Hollings have only ever had each other to rely on. They can't trust their mother, who hops from city to city and from guy to guy, or their gambler stepfather, who's moved them all to Las Vegas. It's just the two of them: Paris, who's always been the dreamer, and Leo, who has a real future in mind--going to Stanford, becoming a doctor, falling in love. But Leo isn't going anywhere right now, except driving around Vegas all night with her sister. Until Paris ditches Leo at the Heartbreak Hotel Diner, where moments before they had been talking with physics student Max Sullivan. Outside, Leo finds a cryptic note from Paris--a clue. Is it some kind of game? Where is Paris, and why has she disappeared? When Leo reluctantly accepts Max's offer of help, the two find themselves following a string of clues through Vegas and beyond. But the search for the truth is not a straight line. And neither is the path to secrets Leo and Max hold inside. (Goodreads)

I really enjoyed Finding Paris. It was an interesting mystery that brought you along for the ride. 

Leo's sister Paris ditches her one night at a diner, but leaves her clues to follow. Along with the help of Max, who she just met at the diner, they set out to find her sister.

Leo, Paris, and Max were all complex characters. I enjoyed learning more and more about each one as the story progressed. They all have their secrets and their own pasts. I especially loved the sister relationship between Leo and Paris. They stick together. They have their differences, but it is clear how much they love each other. 

I liked the way that the mystery of why Paris left slowly unraveled and it wasn't what I was expecting at all. The ending kind of took me by surprise. The mystery definitely made it difficult for me to put this book down for long because I just needed to know what happened to Paris. I also really loved how the author brought the setting to life in this book. I felt like I was actually in Las Vegas with these characters. I loved how she really used the setting to help tell parts of the story.

Overall I really enjoyed Finding Paris. This story really took me by surprise and I haven't been able to stop thinking about it.  

My Rating:

1 comment:

  1. This sounds like an interesting read and I am glad you enjoyed it. I usually like a book with clues and some secrets. I also love the cover. Very pretty.

    ReplyDelete

Thank you so much for leaving a comment! :)