Thursday, September 18, 2014

Falling into Place by Amy Zhang

Falling into Place
By: Amy Zhang
Released: September 9, 2014
Source: ARC from BEA
Purchase the Book: Amazon
*A copy of this book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review


"On the day Liz Emerson tries to die, they had reviewed Newton’s laws of motion in physics class. Then, after school, she put them into practice by running her Mercedes off the road.  Why? Why did Liz Emerson decide that the world would be better off without her? Why did she give up? Vividly told by an unexpected and surprising narrator, this heartbreaking and nonlinear novel pieces together the short and devastating life of Meridian High’s most popular junior girl. Mass, acceleration, momentum, force—Liz didn’t understand it in physics, and even as her Mercedes hurtles toward the tree, she doesn’t understand it now. How do we impact one another? How do our actions reverberate? What does it mean to be a friend? To love someone? To be a daughter? Or a mother? Is life truly more than cause and effect? Amy Zhang’s haunting and universal story will appeal to fans of Lauren Oliver, Gayle Forman, and Jay Asher" (Summary from goodreads.com) 

Wow Falling into Place was such an incredible story. I have been looking forward to this book for months and it was absolutely everything and more than I expected. The writing was beautiful.



Falling into Place is the story of Liz Emerson who plans to kill herself by crashing her car and making it look like an accident. Liz isn't exactly a good person. She could be awful to her fellow classmates and even to her own best friends. However, I still liked Liz in a way.  The side characters were also great and I enjoyed getting to know Kennie, Julia, and Liam.



Falling into Place is told by the perspective of a narrator that I was never expecting. It is also told in all these bits and pieces that just all comes together perfectly. We jump from one character to another and we also jump between the past and the present. Zhang's writing is simply stunning and I wrote down countless quotes. I will definitely be anticipating her next book.



Overall I loved Falling into Place. It's a beautiful story about life and growing up. I'm trying not to say much in my review because I think that this is a book where the less you know before starting it, the better. So with that being said, I strongly recommend picking it up. It's a story that you won't be likely to forget for a long time.

My Rating:

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thank you so much for leaving a comment! :)